Tuesday, December 20, 2011

Washington ends Preds' winning streak in 4-1 rout

Going into Tuesday night's game against the Washington Capitals, the Nashville Predators had won the past five games. That winning streak came to an end on Tuesday night at the Verizon Center as the Capitals thumped the Predators by a 4-1 score.

Washington came out in a dominating fashion in the first period. The Predators barely possessed the puck throughout the entire period, and the Capitals got seven scoring chances. Alex Ovechkin gave the Capitals a 1-0 lead when he snuck past Jonathon Blum for the breakaway goal on Anders Lindback. Blum tried to play the puck while he was in front of Ovechkin and he missed. Ovechkin went in all alone and was able to fool Lindback.

The Capitals would take a 2-0 lead when Nicklas Backstrom scored on a wrap-around play. Backstrom was able to get around Jerred Smithson behind the net, and the defensive help didn't get there in time. The Capitals took the 2-0 lead into the second period.

Nashville played much better in the second period, but were still unable to put one past Washington goaltender Michal Neuvirth.

In the third period, Sergei Kostitsyn got the Predators on the board when he fired a high wrist shot that beat Neuvirth. Neuvirth didn't appear to see the puck on the play, and was very disappointed with himself when the puck went by him.

Alexander Semin would squash the momentum that the Kostisyn goal gave Nashville, however, when he fired a laser of a wrist shot past Lindback. Semin took a drop pass from Marcus Johansson and sniped one in the upper right corner of the net.

Troy Brouwer would give the Capitals a 4-1 lead on the power play at 13:46 of the third period when he tipped in a shot from Dennis Wideman. The Capitals would hold on to win the game 4-1.

The Predators will hope to quickly forget about this game and focus on the Columbus Blue Jackets. The Blue Jackets make their second trip of the season to Bridgestone Arena on Thursday night.

Hockey Night in Nashville's 3 Stars of the game:
1. Alexander Ovechkin(WSH)
2. Michal Neuvirth(WSH)
3. Marcus Johansson(WSH)

Official 3 Stars:
1. Nicklas Backstrom(WSH)
2. Alexander Ovechkin(WSH)
3. Marcus Johansson(WSH)

(Photo Credit: Leanne Charles)